‘The City’: a poem

You can meet anyone in the city
over the brim of a coffee
under the shadow of a bridge
with the help of the wind
mutter to a stranger of the rain
share knowing looks at ironic bad luck
in every tiny window lives another story
you know nothing of
and possibly will never
but possibly could

city

Inspired by this artwork by Kristyna Baczynski http://www.kristyna.co.uk/

(Written for my penpal, inspired by another of Kristyna Baczynski‘s awesome fishy postcards. I don’t even usually like fish! Thank you!)

This brought up feelings I always wanted to articulate about living in London and the feeling of vastness mixed with connectedness, which I still don’t think I could really communicate. I immediately thought of a city, and what city life meant to me, and after writing this discovered that that’s exactly what the artist called it! We are obviously in tune.

Leave a Reply

