‘Margot’: a poem

I live on the top floor
just next to the surface
where I can practise the flute
and none of them notice
My name is Margot
and I’m looking up
my padre the crab
sees me as just a pup
none of them know
what I’ve got in store
but one day my name
is a doorway to war

margot

Artwork by Kristyna Baczynski http://www.kristyna.co.uk/

(A quick bit of folly written for a sea-spirited penpal, inspired by this postcard image by Kristyna Baczynski. Thank you for the stimulus!)

Leave a Reply

