Slipshod Sugary Female Thinking

(… Thank you, Mary Poppins.)

IMAG1038

This year’s greatest achievement so far…

Happy new year! A pinch and a punch for the first of the month, and no returns. And other traditional nonsense.

Today I am filled with excitement and optimistic energy for the coming year. I feel rested. I have had a rare week off, with absolutely no agenda, so sleeping and enjoying oneself have taken vital priority over the Christmas period. I am sitting here watching A View to a Kill with a good friend and the dog, and probably going to watch The Hobbit for the second time later on. Banana bread has just come out of the oven, (my second batch in two days; I intend to cook more from now on) the house is clean thanks to my brand new Henry, and I have furniture and finishing touches for my bedroom on order. I am wearing Mary Shelley around my neck.

For the first time in about five years, this year I went ‘home’ for Christmas. When I say home, (I have a few hometowns) I mean the Forest of Dean (or rather, Gloucester this time, as little bro’s all grown up now and has a place of his own, where I stay) and then Ivybridge, in Plymouth. I got to see my mum and oldest younger brother, (twenty-three) which was lovely, and then my dad, step-mamma and baby brother, (nine months) which was just as lovely, and different. Christmas was a quiet, subdued affair compared to the drinking, music, large family gatherings and games that I have been used to.

In the place of forced tradition and routine and scheduled fun, we spent our time ambling around at a leisurely (very, including the spa day mamma took me on) pace, doing exactly as we all wished, eating, walking, watching films, and going to look at animals (perhaps a trivial-sounding activity but oh-so-revered in my humble view – visiting Pets At Home is something I like to do regularly, just for a quick fix of furry company.)

I taught baby bro to wave, which he apparently now does at Guinevere on Merlin, (they think she must sound a bit like me) and anyone who waves on TV. He’s a bit of a screen-lover, and grabs at phones whenever they’re in sight. He loves Skype, and phonecalls, and seems to respond to familiar voices now, which is absolutely lovely. He has skipped crawling and gone straight to walking while holding onto nearby thumbs. He loves being outdoors and near water, and squeals every time a dog goes past. A man after my own heart. I had a great time staying with them and can’t wait to go back. Saying goodbye was actually quite hard, simply because I remember how far away I am.

Last night, per tradition of a few years, I spent new year’s eve with a bunch of my closest friends up North, drinking and catching up and dancing like fools to nostalgic tunes from our teenage years. I was then, and am now, filled with warmth and gratitude for what and whom I have around me, because it’s all pretty damn great.

A few things I will take from 2012:

  • Day-jobs are okay as a part-time compliment to your true passion. You can benefit from different kinds of work bringing respite from each other, and challenging and exercising you in different ways.
  • Sometimes, love is not enough.
  • I am capable of change, but I find it quite incomprehensible until it happens.

And I think that’s enough for now. :) I am going into 2013 with an open mind and heart, and a bit of slipshod sugary female thinking. I wish peace, love, health and happiness for you all.

2 thoughts on “Slipshod Sugary Female Thinking

  1. ował z nieskładnej trochę opowieści Sakralona aranrzacja wnetrz.
    Krzyżaka, kuchnie aranzacje wnetrz (mardomsara.com) tenże
    monarcha był
    człekiem wystarczająco rubasznym. Mimo to kiedykolwiek
    usiłował przestawić rozmowę w w najwyższym stopniu ciekawym
    kierunku, małolat
    wysłannik na chwilę zmieniał zagadnienie. Unikałrównież wzroku rycerza, wpatrując
    się w własny garniec miodu. Przedniego ddo tego także
    zasługującego na zaciekawienie. Rycerz nie naciskał ponad miarę.
    Całkowicie po.

    • I can’t believe I haven’t tried to translate this before! I just found it again and this is what Google Translate gives me (from Polish?)

      “oval with little incoherent story Sakralona aranrzacja interior.
      Teuton, kitchen interior arrangments (mardomsara.com) That
      monarch was
      człekiem hearty enough. Although it ever
      tried to move the conversation aforementioned extremely interesting
      direction stripling
      envoy for awhile changed the subject. Unikałrównież sight knight, staring
      in its own pot of honey. Ddo front of the
      worthy of curiosity. Knight did not press beyond measure.
      complete after”

      Which sounds very poetic, even if I can’t make much sense of it.

Leave a Reply

